---
title: Canceling Release 
slug: itsm-en/canceling-release
description: Learn how to cancel a release in your release management system. Gain insights on the steps to follow, including accessing the functionality, locating the specific release, changing its status to "Canceled," and saving the modifications.
docTags: 
createdAt: 2021-10-27T19:09:37.000Z
---

This functionality allows <font color="#3b9f0f">**canceling the release**</font>.

## Before getting started

It is necessary:

- [x] The previous registration of the release; and&#x20;
- [x] The  &#x20;permission to cancel it.

## Procedure

1. Access the functionality through the main menu `Processes > Release    Management > Release`;
2. Find the release you want to cancel, and click on the "**Open**" button;
3. In the "<font color="#3b9f0f">**Closure**</font>" area, change the status of the release to   &#x20;"**Canceled**";
4. Click on the "**Operations**" icon and then on "**Save and Advance Flow**" or "**Save   &#x20;and Keep current task**".

